1. A Friend Like You (16) A Friend Like You (16)

Squirrel and Bird are very different. One likes nuts, and the other likes worms. But both of them are happy to try something new. And together, they make the very best of friends. A beautiful tale of unlikely friendship, brought to life with sweet illustrations.



x =

Customer notes:
n/a

2. A Stick Until... (17) A Stick Until... (17)

It sparks the imagination and is one I will be reading over and over again to future grandchildren.
–Linda Tilling, reviewer

A Stick Until... is a beautifully illustrated book with images and information that will capture the imagination of animal lovers of all ages. . . . This is a great read all around.
–Sharon Tyler, reviewer

"A brilliant provocation to play for nature enthusiasts. . . . [a] wonderful exploration of the way animals and kids use sticks; simple, yet shares profound scientific insight."
–Martha Meyer,
Evanston Public Library


This is one of my new favorite books! . . .
Great information. Great illustrations. Great story.
–Jaye Thiel, educator

Absolutely delightful! Attractive, entertaining, informative.
Love it!
–Pat McKelvey, reviewer


A stick is just a stick until…an elephant turns it into a flyswatter, an alligator uses it to catch prey, or a child uses a stick as a toy.

Constance Anderson (Smelling Sunshine) shows readers how a simple stick can become a tool or a toy in this enjoyable look at the many uses animals and people can find for sticks. Creative uses of sticks range from chimpanzees catching tasty treats to birds attracting mates. A fun book to read to an inquisitive child or for use in a classroom, A Stick Until… shows the wonders of nature and the joys of imagination.


x =

Customer notes:
n/a

3. Alien Next Door, The: Trick or Cheat? (18) #4 Alien Next Door, The: Trick or Cheat? (18) #4

In the fourth book of the Alien Next Door series, Halloween is just around the corner, and Harris is excited to share the holiday with Zeke, who doesn't even need a costume!

Harris is ready for Halloween and is very excited when he sees Zeke's "costume," which is just his true alien form. Harris is sure Zeke will win the costume contest at school! Zeke also uses his powers to help Harris make the best costume he's ever had, but Roxy feels left out, as she and Harris usually make costumes together every year.

On Halloween, one of the other kids at school is jealous of Zeke's amazing costume and plots to sabotage it. Will Harris and Roxy be able to stop him and help Zeke win the costume contest?


x =

Customer notes:
n/a

4. Are Pirates Polite? (16) Are Pirates Polite? (16)

Pirates are unruly and pirates love to fight, but pirates still say 'please' and 'thanks' 'cause pirates are polite. Are Pirates Polite? shows pirates' rowdy activities and teaches manners lessons. These pirates remember to say "please" and "thank you." If pirates can be polite, surely young readers can, too! Fun, rhyming text by Corinne Demas and Artemis Roehrig pairs pirates' questionable activities with their lead-by-example lessons in manners. David Catrow's humorous, zany illustrations depict the swashbuckling nature of the pirates. Follow along as pirates have fun on a pirate ship, divide up their treasure, and teach manners. Aargh!


x =

Customer notes:
n/a

5. Attack of the Jack-O'-Lanterns (18) Attack of the Jack-O'-Lanterns (18)

PUMPKIN POWER!

Nothing beats Halloween. It's Drew Brockman's favorite holiday. And this year will be awesome. Much better than last year. Or the year Lee and Tabby played that joke. A nasty practical joke on Drew and her best friend, Walker.

Yes, this year Drew and Walker have a plan. A plan for revenge. It involves two scary pumpkin heads.

But something's gone wrong. Way wrong. Because the pumpkin heads are a little too scary. A little too real. With strange hissing voices. And flames shooting out of their faces...


x =

Customer notes:
n/a

6. Billions of Bricks (16) Billions of Bricks (16)

Two, four, six. Look at all the bricks! Grab a hard hat and all your tools, and get ready for a construction adventure in counting! This clever, rhyming picture book leads readers through a day in the life of a construction crew building with bricks. A brick may seem like just a simple block, but in groupings of ten, twenty, and more, it can create many impressive structures, from hotels to schools to skyscrapers. This is a terrific introduction to counting in quantities for children.


x =

Customer notes:
n/a

7. Class Pets: Fuzzy Freaks Out (18) Class Pets: Fuzzy Freaks Out (18)

Fuzzy has a great new plan as the Adventure Director of the Class Pets Club -- the pets are going to join the Halloween Parade with their kids! In disguises, of course. Finally, they won't be missing all the fun!
But then spooky things start happening, and not in a fun, Halloween way. Is Leo Gumpus Elementary... haunted? And if so, what's an adventurous guinea pig going to do about it?


x =

Customer notes:
n/a

8. Dear Dragon (16) Dear Dragon (16)

Book Reviews: “When I was a kid, my best friend was Josh Funk. Now he’s becoming a friend to a whole new generation.”–B.J. Novak, author of The New York Times bestseller The Book With No Pictures * “Montalvo’s visual irony skillfully paces alongside Funk’s gamboling rhymes, rendering readers’ investigation of each spread just as rewarding as the page turns. A playful celebration of difference (and poetry).”–Kirkus Reviews, starred review. A sweet and clever friendship story in rhyme, about looking past physical differences to appreciate the person (or dragon) underneath. George and Blaise are pen pals, and they write letters to each other about everything: their pets, birthdays, favorite sports, and science fair projects. There’s just one thing that the two friends don’t know: George is a human, while Blaise is a dragon! What will happen when these pen pals finally meet face-to-face?


x =

Customer notes:
n/a

9. Every Color (16) Every Color (16)

A new friendship helps a polar bear realize that it’s possible to see every color in the rainbow—you just need to know how to look

In this picture book perfect for fans of Carson Ellis’s Home and Aaron Becker’s Journey, Bear longs to see color . . . but everything around him on the North Pole is white, white, white. When a seagull brings a gift from a little girl, Bear falls in love with the colors in her painting, but it’s not enough. So the girl sets off in her boat to take Bear on an adventure and help him see the colors up close. The pair visits colorful landmarks around the world, from the windmills of Holland to the Egyptian pyramids to New York’s Statue of Liberty. And by the time they return to Bear’s polar home, Bear has learned to see color reflected all around him—especially the colors of the Northern Lights, which were there all along.


x =

Customer notes:
n/a

10. Frozen: Ghost Hunt! (18) Level 2 Frozen: Ghost Hunt! (18) Level 2

Join Anna and Elsa from Disney Frozen on a spooky adventure in this Step 1 Step into Reading leveled reader

Anna and Elsa from Disney Frozen explore a series of hidden hallways in the castle and uncover some spooky secrets in this Step 1 Step into Reading leveled reader with stickers! It’s the perfect book for kids ages 4 to 6 for Halloween or anytime! Step 1 Readers feature big type and easy words. Rhymes and rhythmic text paired with picture clues help children decode the story. For children who know the alphabet and are eager to begin reading on their own.

Disney Frozen is the #1 animated film of all time, featuring a powerful story, a strong ensemble cast, a pair of relatable sisters, magical environments, and unforgettable music.


x =

Customer notes:
n/a

11. Heather has Two Mommies (16) Heather has Two Mommies (16)

Book Reviews:“Each page is artfully and distinctly rendered to be a visual depiction of the beauty of joy and diversity.” — School Library Journal. "You should really read this book - it will make your day, and it changed the world." Rachel Maddow. "Simple Yet powerful in its ability to move readers of all ages." School Library Journal. "A gentle, heartwarming read that any child today can appreciate." Curve Magazine. Heather’s favorite number is two. She has two arms, two legs, two pets—and two mommies. When Heather goes to school for the first time, someone asks her about her daddy, but Heather doesn’t have a daddy. Then something interesting happens. When Heather and her classmates all draw pictures of their families, not one drawing is the same. This delightful edition for a new generation of young readers features fresh illustrations by Laura Cornell and an updated story by Lesléa Newman.


x =

Customer notes:
n/a

12. Honey, I Love (03) Honey, I Love (03)

Honey, I Love by the Coretta Scott King Award-winning team Eloise Greenfield and Jan Spivey Gilchrist is now in paperback! To one young narrator, it's the simple things that mean the most, like sharing laughter with a friend, taking family rides in the country, and kissing her mama's arm. This paperback edition of the classic poem by Eloise Greenfield with illustrations by Jan Spivey Gilchrist is sure to delight a new generation of readers


x =

Customer notes:
n/a

Subtotal: