Book of Mistakes, The (17)

Not rated yet
0
As one artist incorporates accidental splotches, spots, and misshapen things into her art, she transforms her piece in quirky and unexpected ways, taking readers on a journey through her process. Told in minimal, playful text, this story shows readers that even the biggest “mistakes” can be the source of the brightest ideas—and that, at the end of the day, we are all works in progress, too.
  • $18.99
Qty:  
Only 3 left in stock
    • SKU
      1332
  • Series
    Single Picture Books: Wordless
  • Manufacturer
    Hardcover
  • Publisher or imprint
    Penguin Random House LLC
  • Author
    Luyken, Corinna
  • ISBN-13
    978-0-7352-2792-7
  • Format
    Hardcover
  • Size
    9 1/2" x 11 1/2"
  • Reading Interest
    PreK,K,1,2
  • # of Pages
    56
  • Date Published
    2017
Zoom meets Beautiful Oops! in this memorable picture book debut about the creative process, and the way in which “mistakes” can blossom into inspiration One eye was bigger than the other. That was a mistake. The weird frog-cat-cow thing? It made an excellent bush. And the inky smudges… they look as if they were always meant to be leaves floating gently across the sky. As one artist incorporates accidental splotches, spots, and misshapen things into her art, she transforms her piece in quirky and unexpected ways, taking readers on a journey through her process. Told in minimal, playful text, this story shows readers that even the biggest “mistakes” can be the source of the brightest ideas—and that, at the end of the day, we are all works in progress, too. Fans of Peter Reynolds’s Ish and Patrick McDonnell’s A Perfectly Messed-Up Story will love the funny, poignant, completely unique storytelling of The Book of Mistakes. And, like Oh, The Places You’ll Go!, it makes the perfect graduation gift, encouraging readers to have a positive outlook as they learn to face life’s obstacles. "A striking debut picture book celebrates the creative process. Careful looking will be rewarded with surprising, often funny details in the art, which invites poring over...It would be a grave mistake not to pick up this picture book." -Kirkus (starred review) “At once philosophical and imbued with adventurousness, this picture book lifts to the level of the sublime the idea of putting one’s slip-ups in perspective.”—The Wall Street Journal * "This will lead kids to see their own so-called mistakes in a new, more positive light."—Booklist, starred review * "The idea of setbacks being opportunities in disguise is no stranger to picture book pages, but rarely has it been illuminated with such style, imagination, and compassion."—Publishers Weekly, starred review * "A striking debut picture book celebrates the creative process...all rendered in a style and palette somewhat reminiscent of Erin E. Stead's work but distinctive in its own right"—Kirkus Reviews, starred review "Mistakes in art--as in life--happen, and Luyken shows young readers in a glorious way how they often lead to bigger and better outcomes than anyone could imagine."--BookPage "I will read this book to every group of students I teach for the rest of my career. ...This book is absolutely magical."--Colby Sharp, Nerdy Book Club "This beautiful book, which celebrates the imaginative, playful spirit of an artist letting mistakes guide her work, is more than just an embracing of the artistic process, both messy and lovely. It's also quite the odyssey, one that takes readers on unexpected paths, opening minds and perspectives."--Seven Impossible Things

Standard ground shipping is calculated at 8%, with a minimum $4.00 charge.  Additional fees for expedited, oversized, and international shipping will be assessed on the final invoice.  Please contact customer service with any questions.

Customer reviews
There are no comments yet. Be the first to leave a comment
Please sign in to add review

We accept the following payment methods:

Accepted payment methods

To replace this text with your store's actual info on payment methods, go to "Catalog -> Product tabs" and edit the Payment methods page.

This page is intended for your policy regarding returns and refunds.

Here you can provide information as to what products can be returned, how many days your customers have to return their purchase, whether they will receive a refund in the original form of payment, a replacement or a store credit, who pays for the shipping of the previously purchased products to the store, and so on.

To replace this text with your store's actual return policy, go to "Catalog -> Product tabs" and edit the Return Policy page.

Related products